The 2009 AGM and Presentation of Trophies

The Scarborough Chess Club AGM was held on Tuesday 22nd September at the North Riding Hotel. Much of it was fairly standard club business which should be reported more fully in the next copy of Alan's newsletter (as he was taking minutes).

The main discussion was centred around the format of this season's club championship and it was agreed to retain the same format as last year, having a single "all play all" section.

Simon Dixon presented trophies (pictured below). Malcolm Peart won the club championship. Colin Weller won the under 100 prize in the club championship, but was not present at the AGM. Jon Ayres won the Rapidplay Tournament. Nigel Yates won the player of the year award for gaining the most points for the club in the York League.

Malcolm Peart

Malcolm Peart receiving the Club Championship trophy.

Jon Ayres

Jon Ayres receiving the Douglas Rawlinson Cup for the Rapidplay Tournament.

Nigel Yates

Nigel Yates recieving the Player of the Year trophy.

Back to list of articles.